Getting back to reality

We have been home from holiday for 3 weeks and it took a lot longer than I anticipatsweetner)ed to get back to normal. First of all, jet lag kicked my butt. For the first week, I felt like I was in The Walking Dead. I was a zombie. Every day I hit a wall around 1pm and by 7pm I couldn’t keep my eyes open. I got the best sleep of my life but I didn’t get much accomplished.

The 1st weekend home I replenished my supply of fat bombs. These are essential when getting into (or back into) keto. They are sweet, creamy and loaded with the fat your body needs to stay full. This first one is a take on an Almond Joy bar. I took the recipe from Keto Connect (https://www.ketoconnect.net/almond-joy-recipe/) and modified it to up the coconut factor.

Here is my version.

Almond Joy Fat Bombs

Coconut filling:

1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

1/4 cup canned coconut milk(I use Thai Kitchens)

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp coconut butter

1/2 tsp coconut extract

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp powdered erythritol (or your favorite sweetner)

12 Almonds

Chocolate coating:

6 squares 100% unsweetened bakers chocolate

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp powdered erythritol (or your favorite sweetner)

To start, turn your stove on low and heat a saucepan. Add coconut, coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut butter to the pan and cook over low heat for 5 minutes until coconut is softened. Mix in the coconut extract, vanilla extract and erythritol. Stir until well combined. Portion into 12 silicone molds or mini muffin tins. Another option is to scoop with mini ice cream scoop and place on parchment paper covered cookie sheet. Place 1 almond on top of each fat bomb. Place in freezer for 10 minutes.

While chilling, melt bakers chocolate and coconut oil in microwave safe bowl in bursts of 30 seconds, stirring between. Once melted, add in erythritol and stir well.

Pour chocolate mix over chilled coconut filling. Place in freezer again for 10 minutes. Store in airtight container on fridge.

Another option is to put chocolate in bottom of molds and chill. Then add coconut filling and chill again. Finally top with chocolate and chill again.

Another staple fat bomb in my house is chocolate chip cookie dough. I did not create this one so here is the recipe. https://paleomomnoms.com/2017/04/17/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough-fat-bombs-super-low-carb-keto/

The 1st few days back in the gym for kickboxing were brutal. The temps here were well over 100° and I was drenched when class was over. My abs were sore for days. It was like starting at the gym for the 1st time. But man oh man did it feel good to get in a good solid workout! I’ve been back at it, 4 days a week, and I love it!

I will start posting some more recipes soon. Let me know if you have any special requests!

Leave a comment